How Long Does It Take To Get A Divorce In Colorado?

There are a number of different factors that relate to how long the process is going to take for you. The first factor is statutory. Under Colorado law, your petition for dissolution of marriage needs to be on file for at least 91 days before the court can act on it. That 91 day period starts upon filing if it’s a petitioner and co petitioner filing, or when the other party, the respondent, waives or accepts service. That starts the 91 day waiting period.

Other factors that are involved include the degree of dispute that you have with the other party. Are you able to work together to amicably resolve your situation, or are you gonna need to go back to court to have the judge decide one or more issues that you have outstanding. Those factors relate to how long the divorce process is going to take.

Other factors are whether or not you need to have experts involved in your case. Do you need to have your property appraised? Do you have issues regarding your children, in other words, do you need to get a child and family investigator appointed to weigh in regarding what is in the best interest of the children and what an appropriate parenting plan will look like. If your able to resolve your issues and reduce them to writing in a separation agreement and/or parenting plan, if you have children, then those documents can be filed with the court and once the 91 days has passed, the judge will act upon those documents. Otherwise, if you need to go to court for a permanent orders hearing, that is going to delay the process.

So how long your divorce is gonna take in Colorado depends on a lot of different factors. Here at Lewis & Mathews we try to guide you through the process and make sure that it works as smooth as possible and as efficient as possible so that you can get your case resolved as soon as possible.

Contact us for more information.